I have owned, used, and reviewed a handful of Redmi smartphones, and I have experienced these app recommendations with each and every one of them. In this article, I walk you through how to remove or turn off app recommendations in Redmi phones. MIUI 12 is the latest version of Xiaomi’s custom software that I have on my Redmi phone. As such, this guide is based on that version. The steps may differ slightly with newer versions of MIUI.

How to turn off app recommendations in Redmi phones

The promoted apps are displayed inside folders in the phone’s interface. To stop or remove those app recommendations, go to each folder where the promoted apps are showing. Open the folder and tap on the name. Right below the name will appear a “Promoted Apps” slider (as seen in the screenshot below). Toggle the slider to disable promoted apps and that’s it.  Be sure to repeat this process in every folder where those app recommendations are displayed. It is tedious doing it, but once you are done doing it, you will enjoy your Redmi smartphone much more. As already mentioned, if your Redmi phone runs an older version of MIUI, the steps will vary mildly, but it should not be difficult to figure it out and remove promoted apps. Let me have your feedback and/or questions in the comments section below. I will be happy to help you out in whatever way I can.

Don’t miss our mobile phone reviews.Follow our news on Google News.Join our WhatsApp Group, to be notified of the most important articles and deals,Follow us on Instagram, Facebook, Twitter, and YouTube.